Catherine Russell: Send For Me

Send For Me ()

Catherine Russell

Send For Me ()


Release date: April 1st, 2022

Send for me is also available for download here.


GRAMMY® nominated vocalist Catherine Russell, when asked to characterize her new album, Send For Me, replied, “I love romance that swings.” Send For Me features a baker’s dozen of newly recorded tunes on her eighth album as a leader, meeting a simple exacting standard. “Songs that inspire or touch me in some way. When I find a song I like, it haunts me until I learn it.” Her mission is finding songs that you might not have heard but deserve attention.

Russell’s deep connection to her chosen material is part of a calling. As the daughter of pioneering and legendary musicians, pianist/orchestra leader/composer/arranger Luis Russell, and bassist/guitarist/vocalist Carline Ray, Catherine Russell was born into jazz royalty. In culling material for her new album from the likes of Billie Holiday, Nat King Cole, Luis Russell, Betty Carter, Kay Starr, Joe Liggins, Earl King, Jack Teagarden, Helen Humes, Frank Sinatra, Dakota Staton, Henry Red Allen, and Louis Armstrong, the vocalist swims in familiar waters. She sings a language that comes naturally, furthering a profound legacy.

Send For Me is a follow up to Russell’s 2019 release Alone Together, which received a GRAMMY® nomination for Best Jazz Vocal Album, and landed on the JazzWeek year-end radio chart as the #1 most played album. “I like to invite the people in,” she says of her new album, which is also her philosophy of performing live. The album is an invitation, welcoming the audience to come along on a journey.

1. Did I Remember (3:28)

2. Send For Me (4:45)

3. At The Swing Cats Ball (3:05)

4. Make It Last (4:42)

5. Going Back To New Orleans (3:38)

6. If I Could Be With You (3:41)

7. You Can Fly High (2:54)

8. East of The Sun (and West of The Moon) (3:48)

9. In The Night (4:12)

10. You Stepped Out of A Dream (3:24)

11. Blue and Sentimental (3:08)

12. Sticks and Stones (3:00)

13. Million Dollar Smile (3:38)

Catherine Russell – vocals, percussion (5,7); hand claps (2)

Matt Munisteri – guitar, musical director, banjo (5,6)

Tal Ronen – bass (except 5)

Mark McLean – drums; tambourine (5)

Mark Shane – piano (1,3,4,7,12)

Sean Mason – piano (2,6,8,9,10,11,13)

Jon-Erik Kellso – trumpet (1,3,4,7,9,12)

John Allred – trombone (1,3,4,6,7,9,12)

Evan Arntzen – reeds (1,3,4,7,9,12)

Paul Nedzela – baritone saxophone (9)

Mark Lopeman – tenor saxophone (2)

Aaron Heick – tenor saxophone (2)

Philip Norris – tuba (5)

Paul Kahn – hand claps (2)