Charlie Moon: Patchwork

Patchwork ()

Charlie Moon

Patchwork ()


Release date: May 27th, 2022

Patchwork is also available for download here.


Singer-guitarist Charlie Moon, called Ireland’s rising star of jazz by The Irish Times, presents his debut album, Patchwork. Augmenting his quartet with the addition of tenor and trumpet, The Charlie Moon Sextet plays original arrangements of compositions from the likes of Monk, Ellington and modern electronic artists such as Thom Yorke and James Blake, as well as some of Moon’s own on this innovative new release. The sound and instrumentation of the album are inspired by classic Blue Note recordings combined with influences of modern piano trios.

Side A

Tune (Introduction) (2:32)

In a Sentimental Mood (6:11)

Retrograde (6:07)

You Go To My Head (7:06)

Track Time: 21.55

Side B

Atoms For Peace (5:09)

Round Midnight (5:50)

Little Flower (5:15)

Something Blue (6:05)

Track Time: 22:20

Charlie Moon – vocals, guitar

Johnny Taylor – piano

Dominic Mullan – drums

Barry Donohue – double bass

Denis Scully – tenor saxophone

Bill Blackmore – trumpet

Peter Dobai – tenor saxophone (Something Blue)

Also available