Simona Parrinello: Con Alma

Con Alma ()

Simona Parrinello

Con Alma ()



Release date: February 26th, 2016


Inspired by two of the leading figures in the history of jazz music, Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn, Con Alma is closely tied to African-American music tradition and celebrates the relationship between composition and poetry. Its descriptive strength lies in the close relationship between voice, lyrics and music. Con Alma pays tribute to these two composers not only by interpreting a selection of their compositions, but through a deep inspiration that lingers through the original compositions presented on the album. Simona Parrinello’s recording debut is a masterpiece of European vocal jazz and shows an artist at the top of her game.

1. Beatrice

2. Con Alma

3. Melancholia

4. Everybody’s Song But My Own

5. The Star Crossed Lovers

6. Intro

7. Ghosts

8. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing

9. Man On Wire

10. Caged Bird Sings Of Freedom

11. The Star Crossed Lovers Alternate

Simona Parrinello – vocals

Gianluca Di Lenno – piano, Fender Rhodes

Marco Micheli – double bass

Alessandro Rossi – drums

Also available