Lizzie Thomas: Duo Encounters

Duo Encounters ()

Lizzie Thomas

Duo Encounters ()


The album 'Duo Encounters' is available for pre-order here.

Release date: March 24th, 2023


New York-based vocalist Lizzie Thomas presents her career-defining fifth album, Duo Encounters. The inventive jazz singer — gifted with an inviting voice and a swinging style — teams up with a dozen of her favorite artists to perform a set of intimate and adventurous duets. Over the course of twelve tracks, Thomas digs deep into the lyrics, and uplifts each song with her individualistic approach. Turning away from the conventional, these interpretations of carefully curated tunes are fun and adventurous. The result is a memorable set of superbly sung and often surprising music and it‘s Lizzie Thomas’ most rewarding recording to date.

1. Love For Sale feat. Helio Alves (Cole Porter) (2:33)

2. Willow Weep For Me feat. Ron Carter (Ann Ronell) (5:08)

3. After You Who? feat. John Di Martino (Cole Porter) (3:36)

4. My Foolish Heart feat. Russell Malone (Victor Young – lyrics by Ned Washington) (4:03)

5. Nature Boy feat. Café da Silva (Eden Ahbez) (4:43)

6. Both Sides Now feat. Ron Affif (Joni Mitchell) (6:04)

7. Have You Met Miss Jones? feat. Dezron Douglas (Rodgers & Hart) (4:10)

8. Lush Life feat. Wayne Escoffery (Billy Strayhorn) (5:50)

9. You’re Getting To Be a Habit With Me feat. Rossano Sportiello (Harry Warren – lyrics by Al Dubin ) (3:02)

10. Smile feat. Guilherme Monteiro (Charlie Chaplin- lyrics by John Turner & Geoffrey Parsons) (3:50)

11. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye feat. Noriko Ueda (Cole Porter) (4:41)

12. ‘Round Midnight feat. Mairi Dorman-Phaneuf (Thelonius Monk & Cootie Williams – lyrics by Bernie Hanighen (4:35)

Lizzie Thomas – vocals

Helio Alves – piano (1)

Ron Carter – bass (2)

John Di Martino – piano (3)

Russell Malone – electric guitar (4)

Café da Silva – percussion (5)

Ron Affif – electric guitar (6)

Dezron Douglas – bass (7)

Wayne Escoffery – tenor sax (8)

Rossano Sportiello, piano (9)

Guilherme Monteiro – acoustic nylon string guitar (10)

Noriko Ueda – bass (11)

Mairi Dorman-Phaneuf – cello (12)


Dave Darlington, Bass Hit Studios

(tracks 2 & 12)

David Stoller, Samurai Hotel Studios

(tracks 1,3,6,8 & 11)

Tom Tedesco, Tedesco Studios

(tracks 4,5,7,9 & 10)

Mixing & Mastering: Dave Darlington, Bass Hit Studios