John Minnock: Herring Cove

Herring Cove ()

John Minnock

Herring Cove ()


Release date: June 5th, 2020


Herring Cove is John Minnock’s third release as a leader. Herring Cove pairs Minnock’s signature tell-it-like-it is wit with introspective lyrics to paint a dynamic and compelling portrait of contemporary gay life. For this monumental recording, Minnock brings together two indisputable musical masters: NEA Jazz Master saxophonist Dave Liebman , who steps into the role of executive producer, and decorated composer and songwriter David Shire, who contributes an original new song. Filling out the rest of the set are six original compositions, co-written with Minnock’s friend and lyricist Erick Holmberg, and four stirring cover songs. Joining Minnock is his usual outfit including pianist and Musical Director Enrique Hanenine , bassist Carlos Mena and drummer Pablo Eluchans.

The Winner of the 2019 NYC Readers Jazz Award for Best Male Vocalist (cosigned by Hot House Jazz Magazine and Jazzmobile), Minnock has long captivated audiences with his unique retooling of the Great American Songbook through the eyes of a contemporary gay man.

On Herring Cove, John Minnock offers a much needed and oft-overlooked perspective to the jazz audiences. “My hope is to musically express myself with honesty and integrity; something I feel can be done best in a jazz setting. I hope that this new project offers listeners a greater understanding of the LGBTQ community, and most importantly, that they like what they hear!”

1. Tell Him I’m Fine (3:29)

2. If I Could Turn Back Time (3:51)

3. On Green Dolphin Street (4:48)

4. Unconditional (4:29)

5. It Goes Like it Goes (7:02)

6. A Melody (5:27)

7. Now There’s You (duet with Deborah Lippmann) (4:04)

8. Herring Cove (5:01)

9. After All These Years (4:59)

10. Kansas City (4:48)

11. Stardust (7:04)

John Minnock – vocals

Henrique Haneine – piano, Fender Rhodes

Dave Liebman – saxophone, wood flute

Carlos Mena – bass

Pablo Eluchans – drums

Also available